FEELING INSIGNIFICANT?


“I will praise you for I am Fearfully and wonderfully made”

Psalms 139:14

The world we live in is a humongous place. We are among billions of people who do the same job. This could make us feel insignificant and unimportant. But God says that what we think is not true. We are singled out as remarkably important by the one who created each one of us with a unique purpose of His own in this planet.


“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart”

Jeremiah 1:5

I am just another parent. Just another Teacher. Just another employee. This is what many of us think and fall into the insignificance trap. The work that we do is something which is ordained by God. The work that we consider insignificant is of eternal importance. Many times we fall into the trap only by comparing us with others. There is a reason why God has put you in the job that you are in today. So never try to be someone else.


“Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms”

1 peter 4:10

There once was an old oil lamp in a writer’s house. The lamp stayed on the table near the window that faced the road all day and thought to itself “My master has no use of me. I stay here all day and night watching the people pass by”. Every day after sunset, the writer would light the old lamp and leave it near the window so that the passers on the road could get some light. One evening, a beggar and his little daughter passed by the writer’s house. They saw the little light by the window and decided to sit down and have dinner. While they were having their food, the little girl looked up and admired the stars in the sky. She said, “Father! How I wish I were a star! The stars are so beautiful, aren’t they?” The oil lamp heard what the little girl said and was very upset. He said to himself, “I wish I was star too! I am an old rusted oil lamp of no use”.

As the little girl was looking at the star with fascination, the beggar said, “My dear little daughter, it’s true that the stars are beautiful. But you know what, this little lamp by the window is very important than the star”. The Little girl couldn’t understand what her father was saying. The beggar continued, “Even though the star is up on the sky shining so beautifully, we couldn’t have sat down in it’s light here. It’s only the light of this lamp by the window has helped us have our dinner in the dark. And I wish you become like this little lamp , helping others even if all you have is little”.

The oil lamp was so happy hearing what the beggar said. He started to shine brighter with all his might and never got tired of giving light to the passers on the road.

So what are you thinking? Let your light shine even if the light is too small and let God do what He pleases. Never get tired of doing what is good. Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. overcome the “ifs” knowing that you have an unweary God. If you fall in the thoughts of insignificance and not do what you are supposed to do, you could easily fall out of the role God has put you in. Now come on! Change your thoughts and change your Life! It’s not easy, but It’s simple. Renew your mind today and see how God sees your Life!

“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will”

Romans 12:2

On the other hand, the bible does teach to not think of ourselves more highly than we ought to. But most of us think far less of ourselves than we should.

“For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you”

Romans 12:3

I don’t want my name in lights, I am already adored in my Father’s sight.

-Blessed Christian

Leave a comment